AXIOS Philadelphia: Russian bans most of Pennsylvania’s congressional delegation

At least 29 Pennsylvanians are among the nearly 1,000 Americans banned from entering Russia, according to an updated list the country’s Foreign Affairs Ministry released over the weekend.

Why it matters: While largely symbolic, the travel ban highlights the downward spiral of Russia-U.S relations following the Russian invasion of UkraineReuters reports.

The big picture: President Joe Biden, Vice President Kamala Harris, Mark Zuckerberg, filmmaker Rob Reiner, and actor Morgan Freeman are among some of the big names banned from visiting Russia.

Zoom in: The list also names most of Pennsylvania’s congressional delegation, as well as John Kennedy, a retired common pleas judge in York, and former U.S. attorney for the Western District of Pennsylvania Scott Brady.

  • Joy Flowers Conti, a chief federal judge for the District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania, is also listed.

The intrigue: Sen. Pat Toomey and U.S. Reps. Glenn Thompson and Mike Kelly — all vocal critics of the invasion — aren’t included.

What they’re saying: “We emphasize that the hostile actions taken by Washington, which boomerang against the United States itself, will continue to receive a proper rebuff,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation said in a statement.

  • U.S. Rep. Dwight Evans — who represents Pennsylvania’s 3rd Congressional District, which spans most of Philadelphia — said he considers the sanction “a badge of honor.”